During the early years of the 20th century, Godod was a Subanen village headed by a chieftain named Ginowa. He was a farmer with abundant harvest. He performs a ritual every planting season of the first cropping. In performing the said ritual, Ginowa will pour water in the midst of his granary. The village people watches for the first drop of water that passes through the bamboo floor and whoever gets it will yield a harvest as that of Ginowa. Many villagers and natives in the neighboring village believed and participated in this ritual. This ritual was known as “GODOD” which means pouring of graces.

After the death of Ginowa, the villagers called the place Godod to honor Ginowa who was performing the ritual annually.

Many years later, the Subanen village became a barangay under the jurisdiction of the municipality of Salug. During the implementation of the Zamboanga del Norte Resettlement Project, Godod became the seat of the project implementation, wherein, the field office of the Department of Agrarian Reform was located.

On February 8, 1982, late President Ferdinand E. Marcos signed Batas Pambansa Bilang 146, creating the municipality of Godod. It comprises seventeen (17) barangays namely: Baluno, Banuangan, Bunawan, Delucot, Dipopor, Guisapong, Limbonga, Lomongom, Mauswagon, Miampic, Poblacion, Raba, Rambon, San Pedro, Sarawagan, Sianan and finally Sioran.

The municipality was formally organized on September 25, 1982 and the first set of appointed officials assumed to their office on September 27 on that same year. This seventeen-year old municipality was administered only by a few personalities with dedicated efforts and integrity namely:


          Honorable Jesus Vargaso Te (Appointed)   
September 25, 1982 – May 5, 1986        

         Honorable Tambaba Gumanlod (OIC)   
May 6, 1986 – December 2, 1987

         Honorable Tomas P. Pacatang (Ad Interim) 
December 3, 1987 - February 1, 1988

         Honorable Jesus Vargaso Te (Elected)  
February 2, 1988 – June 30, 1988

            Honorable Erlinda N. Lim Te               
July 1, 1998 to date

Gaisapong Falls